St Stephen’s Chapel was effectively destroyed by the fire of 1834; its remains were finally dismantled three years later. Nevertheless, it has left an important architectural legacy. When Charles Barry designed the new House of Commons, he perpetuated the basic layout of the old chamber, although innovations were also incorporated.
Barry’s Palace was completed in 1870, but bomb damage during the Second World War forced another reconstruction of the Commons chamber, completed in 1950.
Discover more about the evolution of the House of Commons by clicking on the images below.